Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better service. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies.

Organisation Structure - The Board

Christopher Rodrigues CBE

Christopher Rodrigues was appointed chairman of the PLA with effect from 1 January 2016.

Christopher has strong Thames links.  He was a member of two winning Cambridge Boat Race Crews and subsequently chairman of the Leander Club; he is a craft owning freeman of the Waterman’s Company. 

Following a career in the financial and tourism sectors, Christopher is currently chairman of Visit Britain, Openwork LLP, The Almeida Theatre and the British Bobsleigh & Skeleton Association.  He is a trustee of the National Trust.


Robin Mortimer

Robin joined the PLA as chief executive officer on 31 March 2014.

Previously he has worked in the UK civil service since 1994, with a degree in Modern History from Queen’s College, Oxford University and MSc in Development Studies from SOAS, London University.  Early in his civil service career he was Private Secretary to the Deputy Prime Minister from 1997-1998 and later to the Secretary of State for Transport from 2001-2003.

Joining Defra in 2004 as a deputy director, Robin led the Rural Strategy Division for three years.  In 2006, he moved to the Office of Climate Change, where he led work on the UK’s Climate Change Bill.  In 2007, he was appointed as director of the Government’s Adapting to Climate Change programme, which he led until early 2011.


Bob Baker

Bob Baker became PLA chief harbour master in May 2016.

He is responsible for all operational and navigational matters including vessel traffic management, pilotage, harbour services and port security.  Bob joined the PLA from Forth Ports, where he was chief harbour master and a director of Forth Estuary Towage from 2001. Bob’s seagoing career lasted from 1975 to 1991, before he came ashore to work at the Port of Tilbury, latterly as general manager, conventional operations and harbour master.

Bob chairs the UKMPG/BPA Marine Pilot Working Group, is the UK’s representative on the Marine Affairs Committee of the European Sea Ports organisation (ESPO) and is a past president of the UK Harbour Masters Association. He holds an MBA from Henley Management College.


Ian Moncrieff CBE

Ian Moncrieff joined the PLA board as non-executive director on 1 January 2015.  Ian Moncrieff was chief executive of the UK Hydrographic Office (UKHO) from 2011 to the end of January 2015, having been with the UKHO in a variety of roles, including UK National Hydrographer as a Rear Admiral since 2006.

He served with the Royal Navy for almost 35 years, accumulating over 20 years’ seagoing experience in 11 warships. 

His senior roles have included commander British Forces South Atlantic; he commanded the ice-breaker HMS Endurance and destroyer HMS Nottingham; he was executive officer, HMS Invincible.


Tony Quinlan

Was appointed as a non executive member of the Port of London Authority board in March 2012, where he is chairman of the audit committee.

A chartered accountant, Tony qualified with Coopers & Lybrand before joining Marks & Spencer in 1992, where he held a number of senior finance positions. He was the group’s director of investor relations from 2000 before taking up the position of director of finance, the deputy to the group finance director, in 2005.  He joined Drax Group plc in 2008 as group finance director, before taking up his current role as chief financial officer of Laird PLC in July 2015.


Annette Malm Justad

Annette Malm Justad joined the PLA as a non-executive director on 1 June 2014.  Annette has over 30 years’ experience in industry and shipping, working for companies including Yara International ASA, Norgas Carriers/IM Skaugen ASA, and Norsk Hydro ASA. From 2006 to 2010, she was of CEO of Eitzen Maritime Services ASA, an international ship supply company.

Annette is currently chairman of the American Shipping Company ASA and Store Norske Kulkompani AS. She is also a member of the boards of Awilco LNG ASA, Small Turbine Partners AS and Pleat AS. Annette holds a Masters degree in Technology Management from MIT/Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU) and an MSc in Chemical Engineering from NTNU.


Julie Tankard

Julie Tankard, chief financial officer was appointed in October 2017. Julie is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants and has over 25 years of experience in finance, primarily in IT and telecommunications.

Prior to joining the PLA, Julie was a vice president at BT plc and her last role was responsible for group contract & commercial management. Prior to joining BT, Julie was the finance director for Racal Datacom and prior to that was finance director for the networking division of Unisys UK & EMEA. Julie has also been a non-executive director of a mental health trust in Leeds and York since 2013.


Helen Deeble

Is chief executive of the P&O Ferries Division. A chartered accountant with more than twenty years’ experience in shipping, Helen came into the industry when she joined Stena Line, and later served as finance director in the P&O Stena Line joint venture, subsequently becoming COO and CEO of P&O Ferries.

Helen is a board member of global trade association Interferry, the UK Chamber of Shipping and The Standard P&I Club. She was vice-president and president of the UK Chamber of Shipping from 2011 to 2013.


Alun Griffiths

Alun Griffiths joined the PLA on 1 September 2014. He was formerly Group HR director and a main board member at WS Atkins plc, Europe’s largest engineering and design consultancy. An economics graduate, Alun is a fellow of the Chartered Institute of Personnel and Development and a non-executive director of the group Women in Science and Engineering. He has worked in a number of business management and corporate roles, including HR, strategy and marketing.

Alun is a non-executive director of Severfield plc, The McLean Partnership Limited, a member of the National Employer Advisory Board, chairman of the advisory board of UCL 2050 leadership programme and a member of the Royal Society Diversity Steering Group.


Darren James

Darren was appointed a non executive member of the Port of London Authority board on 1 December 2016.

A Chartered Civil Engineer, Darren graduated with honours from the University of Surrey in 1990. He has spent his career at Costain coming through the graduate programme as a Civil Engineer, through Project Management roles on some of the UK’s largest Infrastructure programmes to becoming the Managing Director of their Infrastructure Division. Darren is a member of the Executive Board of Costain Group PLC and responsible for their activities across the Highways, Rail and Nuclear sectors. He sits on the Prince’s Trust Leadership Group championing the entry of young people into the industry.


Judith Armitt

Judith was appointed a non executive member of the Port of London Authority board on 1 December 2016.

She retired as Chief Executive of Local Partnerships LLP in April 2016. Prior to this she worked in the Cabinet Office, was Managing Director of Ashford’s Future Company, Thames Gateway Chief Executive, and Chief Executive of Medway Council.

Judith is Chair, trustee and director of the Rochester Diocesan Board of Finance; a trustee of the Centre for Engineering and Manufacturing Excellence (CEME), and of Design: South East. She is a non-executive director of the Housing and Finance Institute and a member of the Governing Body of Canterbury Christ Church University